Post Image

 Balkan Peninsula showing religious and ethnic diversity

The word Balkan is Turkish and means ‘mountain’. The Balkans, or the Balkan Peninsula, is a region in the south-east of Europe. This map shows the geography of the Balkans and their religious and ethnic diversity. On this map the Balkans comprise the areas of Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Albania, Macedonia, Greece, Bulgaria and Romania. The westernmost part of Turkey is also included. The largest of the colour-coded groups on the map is the South Slavs or Yugoslav group which forms the majority of the population in several countries. The other national groups represented here are Romanians, Greeks and Albanians, as well as many other ethnic minorities who live in the region. 

Where is this map from?

The map is taken from La Péninsule balkaniqueGéographie humaine (1918). This book is a study of the physical and human geography of the Balkans by Jovan Cvijić (1865-1927), a Serbian geographer and ethnographer, published in Paris. It includes essays, drawings, maps and four large maps in colour, folded and inserted at the back of the book.

Comments are closed.